Gluten Free Chocolate Mug Cake

Happy November! It is officially the kick off to the holiday season and the season for sugary treats EVERYWHERE. In your kids room (they hid 1/2 of their chocolate Halloween candy from you), in the office, in the dish on the counter, at every gathering… candy, cookies, sugary cocktails… shuga is everywhere.

Fact: Sugar makes you fat, not fat. Eat good fats and avoid sugar and you will lose weight.

How in the world are you supposed to avoid eating sweets when there are mini candy bars laying around everywhere?

My suggestion? Eat more sweets.

Shocked?

I am not suggesting that you eat more candy, I want you to try eating sweet potatoes, butternut squash, and protein packed mug cakes. Eat these guys early in the day and your sweet tooth that hijacks your brain at night will chill out. I also suggest using stevia in your hot tea and coffee. I also LOVE dark chocolate. I eat dark chocolate all the time. I just grab one square and I am done with it after that. I could sit there and eat all of it, but I set a limit on myself and stick to it.

I am currently obsessed with making mug cakes. I am eating one now for breakfast. Protein packed, gluten free, chocolate cake for breakfast? Yes please!

Gluten Free Chocolate Mug Cake:

1/3 Cup Almond Flour
1 TBS Coconut Flour
1/4 Tsp Baking Soda
1 Egg
2 TBS Cashew or Almond Milk
2 TBS Apple Sauce
1 TBS Honey
1/2 Tsp Coconut Oil (Melted)
1/2 Tsp Vanilla (organic)
10 Drops Stevia
2 TBS Cocoa

Combine all the ingredients in a big mug, mix with a fork and microwave for 2 – 3 minutes.

BabbleChocMicroCake-300x2001

About heatherswint

Hi! I'm Heather - Mom, Wife, Yogi, Music Lover, Clean Eater and Obsessed with Essential Oils.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gluten Free Chocolate Mug Cake

  1. El Nahta says:

    Thanks for the recipe! Will definitely try it! πŸ™‚
    Check out my blog bubblythoughtss.wordpress.com
    Cheers! πŸ™‚

  2. So funny that you mention butternut squash. I made it for the first time yesterday (crazy, I know) and couldn’t believe how sweet it was!

    • heatherswint says:

      It really IS sweet! If you make soup out of it, you will get the comfort and sweetness you are craving. They are a bear to peel, but I have found pre-diced butternut squash in the produce section and that makes life easier.

Leave a Reply

