The Weird Way I Do Laundry

I have never really liked the perfume-y smell of some laundry detergents and fabric softeners. I can not imagine how overpowering those new scent beads must be. I just don’t think my clothes need to smell like a bottle of perfume to smell clean. Now, I can smell it on other people’s clothes and it bugs me. It does not give me a headache or anything, I just don’t like the smell.

DIY, Dryer Balls, natural, non-toxic, wool, all natural, essential oilsI do my laundry differently than most people. I don’t make my own detergent. I know a lot of people do and it saves money, but I use an unscented detergent for sensitive skin. I also use vinegar in the wash as my fabric softener. Did you know that vinegar softens fabric? It is cheap and easy. Just put about 1/4 cup of white vinegar into the wash along with your detergent. Don’t worry, your clothes will not smell like vinegar.

After the wash cycle, I put most of my clothes in the dryer. I hang up all of my delicates and my yoga clothes so they won’t loose their elasticity. I have about 6 dryer balls in the dryer and a big ball of aluminum foil. The wool dryer balls dry your clothes faster and get rid of wrinkles, the foil gets rid of static cling. You can also pin a big safety pin on the dryer balls for static cling too. I usually put a few drops of my favorite essential oils on the dryer balls and they give your clothes a nice mellow, clean scent.

Speaking of essential oils, you can use oils to get out stains. Lemon oil is great for stains. Just put a drop or two directly on the stain and wash. This is very effective for oil and sticky stains.

I like making the dryer balls. It keeps my hands off of the computer and it is meditative. They are very easy to make and they make great gifts. Throw in a bottle of essential oil to scent them with and you have the perfect house warming, new baby or just because gift.

So, maybe you can be weird like me and smell clean and fresh instead of like a bottle of perfume. How does that smell like the mountain air? I can tell you it sure does not smell like lavender!

If you are interested in getting the best essential oils – shoot me a message or call me.

About heatherswint

Hi! I'm Heather - Mom, Wife, Yogi, Music Lover, Clean Eater and Obsessed with Essential Oils.
This entry was posted in diy, family, Home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

