The Secret of Happiness

Happiness… it is a journey not a destination… right? Well…maybe I just want to enjoy the juicy, cheesy burger in front of me RIGHT NOW. Screw the destination to better health and no muffin top. I don’t care that I am lactose intolerant, I want the cheeseburger. Then after I eat said burger, I feel bad physically and mentally. I beat myself up and dedicate my life to creating the perfect healthy burger as well as abstaining from all dairy for my entire life.

Does this sound like you or am I a nut? I am a nut, but I don’t think I am all alone over here! 😉

The secret to happiness according to pioneers in positive psychology like this guy, Tal Ben Shahar, is to be in the moment but have a future purpose. Try to mesh the two. We can’t be all CARPE DIEM all the time. I have tried, it does not work. We also cannot be so future focused that we forget to stop and smell the roses either.

How can we find more balance in our lives? What are some activities that bring you immediate happiness? What are some goals you have? How do you want to feel in 5 minutes, tomorrow or in 3 months? Take a minute to think about this and see what comes up.

Namaste,
H

About heatherswint

Hi! I'm Heather - Mom, Wife, Yogi, Music Lover, Clean Eater and Obsessed with Essential Oils.
Video | This entry was posted in stress, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

