Do you need to relax?

ImageIs that a dumb question? I think we all need to chill. Do me a favor, check in with your breathing. Is it shallow? Dull? Bright? Fast? Fluid? Now check your jaw. Is it tight or clenched? Did you know you were clenching your jaw? Finally, check in with your mind. Are you really paying total attention to the task at hand, or are you also thinking about what’s for dinner?

If your breath is dull, shallow; your jaw is clenched and you can not concentrate on one thing at a time – you are like 90% of people I meet in yoga class. This is why I recommend everybody take a Restorative Yoga class at least once a week. In a restorative class we use props like yoga blocks, blankets and yoga bolsters to support the body in relaxing poses for 3 – 15 minutes. This type of class is like a shot of valium to your nervous system. This style is my favorite to teach because I believe it is the most unique and the most needed. All through class I hear oooohs, ahhhs and thank Gods – kind of like I have been dropped off in the middle of a spa where lucky people are getting massages. Restorative Yoga is like a massage, but better (in some ways!) because you can do it anywhere for free. Check out my class at Jefferson Power Yoga on Wednesday nights at 7:00 PM if you are in the area. If not, look up classes called Restorative, Yin or Relax & Renew. You’ll thank me later! 🙂

About heatherswint

Hi! I'm Heather - Mom, Wife, Yogi, Music Lover, Clean Eater and Obsessed with Essential Oils.
This entry was posted in restorative yoga, yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

