Peanut Butter, Dark Chocolate and Nutella – Drama in the Kitchen

ImageI’m sitting on the couch, watching the last innings of a baseball game. The family has been fed, the dishes are clean and I am getting sleepy. Then I hear it, “Heather… I’m in here. You have been so good today eating all your veggies, forgoing bread and now I’m here to reward you.” beckons the peanut butter and bag of dark chocolate chips from my pantry. I think to myself, you know the peanut butter is pretty smart, I have been good all day. And as for you dark chocolate… you know I can’t resist you. But, I try to resist. I make a cup of tea. “You know that tea is not the same and plus you need us. The day won’t be complete without a little treat.”  I sip my tea and tell the peanut butter to hush. Then, Nutella speaks up. “Hey baby, it’s been a while.” Oh dear God, I really can’t resist you Nutella! Who brought you into the house anyway? I dumped you last summer, remember? Get lost! “But, you are sad. The Braves are losing and Chipper is leaving. So, let me make you feel better.” Seriously, I am going to bed. You guys can suck it. I am not going to have a muffin top anymore! Being healthy is more important than sweet treats.

I take my tea to the bedroom, I grab my book and I hear the sigh of defeat from the pantry.

As silly as this may sound, the story is true! I go through this almost every night. Late night eating is a bad habit I am trying to break. This blog from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition talks about late night food and how the calories may actually affect your body differently. So, not only do I crave sweets (and I bet you do too) at night, those calories may stick to your midsection more than if you ate the chocolate chips at breakfast.

About heatherswint

Hi! I'm Heather - Mom, Wife, Yogi, Music Lover, Clean Eater and Obsessed with Essential Oils.
This entry was posted in detox, diet, food, health, nutrition, sleep and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

