Sneaky Sugar…Mysterious Milk

Day 7 of the cleanse. Frustration and irritability are my two companions right now.

This morning, feeling bloated, tired and about to kill someone for a bagel, I stepped on the scale. I was not happy after stepping on the scale. No weight  loss…none. What!!!! Why!? 😥

After pitchin a fit, emailing my herbalist/acupuncture/diet guidance counselor and venting to anyone with ears – I listened to some music and calmed down. Thank you Wilco, The Beatles and Widespread Panic…now I am sane and looking at things logically instead of thinking that I need to go on a liquid diet for the rest of my life.

Calm Heather says to herself: your body is adjusting, look at everything you are eating and reevaluate, PS give yourself a break, you are pretty cute even with the extra pounds

I realized that there is a sneaky sugar creeping into this cleanse.  My go to protein…almond butter..the brand I have been eating has sugar in it. Dang it. I am promptly going to Earth Fare in Athens for some fresh almond butter with nothing added. What else could be thwarting my plans? Milk. That is also everywhere in our SAD (Standard American Diet) 

Reading the ingredient list on the protein powder I am using and I discover, in tiny letters: buttermilk. Dang it. Again.

So, these two guys have got to go and I need to find a replacement.  I also need to find my way to the mat. Yoga, movement, sweat and stress reduction are needed right now. So is my drug of choice, Restorative Yoga. I may need to do yoga 2x a day for a while. Morning sweaty, powerful yoga (or a nice walk) and evening restorative Yoga. That is what I would tell someone in my situation to do, so, I am going to take my own advice.

I would like to thank Shams for also telling me that “Patience is my friend” – laughable if you know me and my “I want it and I want it now” personality. Shams does know this about me (all too well) and she knows exactly what to say to point me in the right direction. ♥

About heatherswint

Hi! I'm Heather - Mom, Wife, Yogi, Music Lover, Clean Eater and Obsessed with Essential Oils.
This entry was posted in cleanse, diet, Niyamas, patience, Yamas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sneaky Sugar…Mysterious Milk

  1. Danielle says:

    The bloat is the yeast starving out from little/no sugar!!! A sign you are on the right track! Don’t get discouraged 😉

Leave a Reply

